Surf City El Salvador Set to Host the 2024 ISA World Longboard Championship

For immediate release

1st February 2024

From:  International Surfing Association
Sport:  International Longboard Surfing
Event:  2024 ISA World Longboard Championship
Divisions: Open Men and Women
Date: 18-25 April
Location: Surf City, El Salvador
Websites: ISA World Longboard Championship and Surfing New Zealand

Surf City El Salvador Set to Host the 2024 ISA World Longboard Championship

The WLC Championship returns to El Sunzal April 18 – 25

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is pleased to announce that Surf City El Salvador will host the 2024 ISA World Longboard Championship (WLC) at El Sunzal, April 18 – 25.

The 2024 WLC will follow the record-breaking 2023 edition, also hosted by Surf City El Salvador, where 118 surfers from 33 nations were present to challenge for the world championship in pristine conditions at El Sunzal.

The idyllic points of Surf City El Salvador are a dream location for longboarders and the continued support of the Salvadoran government will allow the world’s best to showcase the unique nature of the sport and its viability for inclusion in the LA 2028 Olympic Games.

The 2023 WLC was dominated by Team France, who won the Team World Championship Trophy. France’s Alice Lemoigne and Antoine Delpero won the gold medals in the women’s and men’s divisions respectively, while Edouard Delpero took home the men’s bronze medal and Zoé Grospiron earned the women’s copper medal.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said:

“El Sunzal is such an amazing wave for longboard. I am looking forward to seeing the world’s best longboarders return in 2024 after such a wonderful event in 2023.

“We are determined to see longboarding on the programme of the LA 2028 Olympic Games and have no doubt that the performances delivered in 2024 will be worthy of inclusion on sporting’s biggest stage.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment.

The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964.

It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012, and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 109 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG).

The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit


Go to Surfing New Zealand
Author: Dan Westerkamp