Eight Titles Confirmed Across Longboard, SUP, Bodyboard at National Championships

Christchurch surfer Jack Tyro claimed his second national longboarding title notching up another accolade to his fledgling career.  Tyro was joined by Lucy Macefield, a fellow Christchurch surfer after she claimed the Open Women’s Longboard Division.

The two were among eight surfers that secured titles on Tuesday (9th January).  These titles were spread across the longboard, stand up paddleboard and bodyboard divisions.

Much of day three of the 2024 National Surfing Championships was held in fun surf conditions up to 1.0m high with next to no wind before the full tide temporarily halted proceedings in the afternoon and the onshore winds filled in.

Tyro had a back-and-forth battle with Mount Maunganui surfer Caelin Pitkeathley in the final of the Men’s Longboard Division, Tyro eventually getting the nod by 0.10 points on his final ride.  Both surfers put on an exceptional show in the final with the lead swinging no less than three times in the final five minutes.

“The title was what I came here for, so yeah, I am happy to take it out,” Tyro said of his win.

“I was just trying to be patient at the start and get the bigger better waves and they didn’t come, it was so small, at the end I just needed to get a few waves and Caelan and I ended up in a good battle,” added Tyro on how the final unfolded.

The final of the longboard was held off over the full tide, a decision that ultimately ended up with less than favourable conditions.  “It was really funny, when we went on hold, it was kinda alright then when we started again, it got worse and worse.  I guess that is surf comps for you,” Tyro said.

Finishing third in the final was Charlie Wise (Chch) with Cameron Haylock (Chch) finishing in fourth place.

Christchurch claimed a second longboard title through Lucy Macefield and in much the same fashion as Tyro, by the slimmest of margins – 0.10.  Macefield defeated Amilie Wink (Chch) in the final after leading from start to finish despite the narrow margin.  Gabi Paul (Piha) finished in third place ahead of Kiri Binnersley (Rag) in fourth.

Standup Paddleboard titles went to ex-New Zealand representatives Alan Te Moananui (Kaik) and Stella Smith (Gis).  It was Te Moananui’s first title in the discipline, a title he has chased for the last decade.  A 15.8 point heat total ensured his win over Karlos Aarsen (WGM) who incurred an interference in the final that ultimately did not impact the results given Te Moananui’s scoreline.  Mark Stevenson (Dun) finished in third place with Curtis Nu’u (Ohope) in fourth and Dean Wink (Chch) in fifth.

The Women’s SUP Final produced an outstanding tussle for the title with Gisborne’s Stella Smith getting the nod with a 14.85 point heat total to best Billie Scott (Mnt) on 13.35 points, Amilie Wink (Chch) on 10.90 points and Lucy Te Moananui (Kaik) on 6.60 points.

Aaron Lock (Chch) picked up his third title in the Bodyboard Division and the Women’s Bodyboard was won by Gisiele Summerton (Dun).

Caelan Pitkeathley joined Macefield as the winner of the Under 18 Boys Longboard Division.

The Volkswagen Highest Single Wave Score of the Day went to Alan Te Moananui for a 9.0 point ride in the Men’s SUP Final.

Action takes place from 8am – 5pm daily.  Schedules, live scores and results are available via www.liveheats.com/surfingnz.

Over 350 entries have been received for the event which takes place from today (Sunday 7th January) and runs through until Saturday 13th January.  It is the ninth time the event has been staged at Dunedin, dating back to 1978.

Raglan’s Point Boardriders are the defending club champions from the 2023 event.  With the event being held in the South Island this year, the likes of hosts South Coast Boardriders will be eager to take the title and challenge perennial front runners including the defending champions, Bay Boardriders and New Plymouth Surfriders.

Also, up for grabs at the 61st Championships is the Peter Byers Overall Performance of the Event Award which was won by Taranaki surfer.

A total of 26 divisions are contested at the event including the premier Open Men and Women plus additional divisions comprising of age groups from Under 14 boys and girls through to Over 70s for males and females and Longboard, Stand Up Paddleboard, Bodyboard, Kneeboard and adaptive disciplines.

The event would not be possible without the support of the following partners: Sport NZ, Volkswagen and Sun Bum.  The 2024 National Surfing Championships is proudly hosted by South Coast Boardriders and South Island Surfing Association.

Schedule of events:
Sunday 7th January – Senior Men and Women, Kneeboard
Monday 8th January – Senior Men and Women
Tuesday 9th January – Longboard, Bodyboard, SUP and Junior Boys and Girls
Wednesday 10th January – Junior Boys and Girls
Thursday 11th January – Open Men and Women, Junior Boys and Girls
Friday 12th January – Open Men and Women
Saturday 13th January – Open Men and Women

The 2024 National Surfing Championships commences both the domestic NZ Surf Series, NZ Grom Series and NZ Longboard Series with fifteen events scheduled around the country this summer.

Further Information
For further information on the 2024 National Surfing Championships please contact Surfing New Zealand’s Ben Kennings on 021 2278732 or email benkennings@surfingnz.co.nz.

High resolution action images of the surfing will be available to media free of charge upon request.

Social Media
Keep up with all the action by following @surfingnz on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.  Use the hashtag #2024Nats to follow the story.

Surfing New Zealand is proudly partnered by:
Sport NZ
Sun Bum


Go to Surfing New Zealand
Author: Ben Kennings